Figs Breakfast Lunch

I started this blog a year and a half ago, but never ended up taking it seriously. At the time, I cooked a lot and had tons of recipes stored up on my phone. Lately, I haven’t had as much time to play in the kitchen, but I decided to start posting food reviews here. So cheers to a new year, and hopefully more interaction on this blog. šŸ™‚

IMG_5086
I moved to the east side of downtown Toronto this year, and have been meaning to check on Figs for a while now, which is located at Queen and Parliament. The perfect time came on New Years Day. When I called in the morning to check if they were open,Ā the first thing I heard was “We’re open today” which was quickly followed by a happy “Thanks!” from me.

When we got there around 2pm, the little breakfast place was really busy. We just barely managed to squeeze into the space at the back of the store, where other people were waiting. Although it looked hectic, we were quickly seated by one of the waiters, who had a charmingĀ French accent.

I ordered the California Eggs Benedict while my cousin ordered the full breakfast w/ pancakes and a cup of coffee. I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were three eggs benedict rather than the usual two, and the presentation was great. The english muffin was slightly over toasted and really hard to cut on the first one I tried, but taste wise the combination of avocado, tomato, poached egg and lemony hollandaise went well together. I didn’t end up eating the fruit on my plate, but there was a variety such as watermelon, pineapple, and honeydew melon. It’s also the first time I’ve ever been to place that had tangerine chunks instead of orange, so cute. Lastly, my breakfast came w/ home fries, which were not anything special but decent.

My cousin’s breakfast came with home fries, two eggs, sausage, bacon as well as the option of pancakes/french toast/waffles. Since she doesn’t like sausage, she swapped it for extra bacon. Kudos for that being possible w/out having to add any extra money. The pancakes were super fluffy and came with a side of maple syrup as well as a few thin apple and strawberry slices. She liked her breakfast, but had a lot of difficulty cutting the pancakes and left the bacon unfinished because of the large amounts of fat.

Extra Musings: I noticed that the eggs were different sizes on the same plate, both for my eggs benedict and for my cousin’s sunny side eggs. Not sure why this is, but that’s why I didn’t include the sunny side eggs in the picture because it made for not so pretty presentation.

Final Verdict

Presention: 4/5

Portion Size: 5/5

Taste: 4/5

Service: 4/5 (extra point just for the host!)

Price: $ ($10-15 per person)

Would I come back? Definitely.

 

My rating system:

1/5 = horrible

2/5 = bad

3/5 = average

4/5 = good

5/5 = amazing

 

Figs Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Figs Breakfast Lunch

Leave a comment